Sharing is Caring: My Weekly Finds

The posts here are a mash-up of interesting things I’ve found or learned from during the preceding week. This could be material from blog posts, articles, video clips, etc.  

Current (Pop) Culture Chattering

Wicked Writing Wisdom

To paraphrase Kristen Lamb, if you have no “Big Boss Troublemaker,” you have no story.  Want to learn more?  Head over to read Structure Part 3 – Introducing the Opposition.

Jody Hedlund has two pieces this week that were a bit help to me.  How to Kiss Writing Jitters Goodbye gives tips on overcoming the nerves that can show up at all levels of our writing careers.  With 4 Ways to Add Caffeine to Your Story, we learn some avenues to add more fast-paced action to our work.

Jason Black’s Finishing NaNoWriMo talks about having an end-game for getting the manuscript you are working on finished so those 50,000 words aren’t completed in vain.

6 Ways to Reconnect with Your Work-In-Progress from Suzannah Windsor Freeman complements the NaNo piece and gives more guidance on getting back to a manuscript so it does not languish in the drawer.

Making Media Magic

The blogosphere took off this week with the discussion of an outed blogger plagiarist.  I’ll let these heartfelt posts speak for themselves:

10 Surefire Ways to Overcome Blogging Procrastination, from guest poster Marelisa Fabrega on Problogger.net, provides great tips for setting up and staying on schedule.

Another hot topic this week was numbers and measurements of writers’ platforms and what would be considered success.  Kristen Lamb’s post Numbers Are Our Friend – Writers and the Wild World of Metrics helped put it all into rational perspective for me.

Catie Rhodes shared several of her Social Media Dos and Don’ts.  These are great and include some I hadn’t thought about.

Carrie Spencer continues her fantastic series of WordPress tips with Ping Pong Pingback – Woodie knows WordPress.  Definitely check out some of the other tips.  All are easy to understand and carry out.

Frolicking Fun Finds

Stacy Green introduced me to the Pole Dancing Dolly.  While I chuckled, this doll is so so wrong on multiple levels.  Folks, it is an obviously girly girl cartoon graphic posed holding a pole, ready to get down.  Check this one out to see some other items that are not holiday gift worthy.

Where I come from, you can never go wrong with cats so Virginia Ripple’s Super Cats post was a treat.

Season two has started and The Walking Dead: Best Commercial Free Zombie TV from Jess Witkins is a great recap of the first night. 

Imaginative, Insightful, Inspirational

Setting the Scene for a Productive Day by Elizabeth Grace Saunders gives suggestions for creating the optimal environment for creative work.

Diana Murdock opened up her moment of grief to us and shared her last words to her father in I Am Now, Truly, An Orphan.  What a powerful post.

Are you registered to be a bone marrow donor?  Lesann Berry shares her experience in Be the Match.

The photos on Naomi Bulger’s blog are a regular treat.  Check out the beautiful floral images in What’s Wednesday without… a blossom party?

Doug Kelsey’s One Thing You Must Have To Get Fit will be on my repeat read list as I complete my ROW80 goals.

This entry was posted in Thoughts on Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sharing is Caring: My Weekly Finds

  1. Jami Gold says:

    Thank you for the link! I wish it wasn’t for such bad news, but I hope my tip for protecting our blogging material is helpful.

    • Absolutely Jami! I hesitated a smidge on including the discussion, but felt it was a must. Posts and fantastic discussion are educational and show the depth of support in the community. It encircles and shows the WANA principle hands down. And the comparison of what happened to your brother’s theft I think helped others “get” what writers who have had their works stolen really feel.

  2. Lesann says:

    Thanks for linking to my post about bone marrow donation. Getting the word out and getting people to think and consider is hugely helpful! Thanks! …now I’m going to go fishing amongst all these other yummy links.

  3. Hartford says:

    Love your line-up Barbara – can’t wait to check em’ out!
    Love the descriptions and categories – totally rocks!

  4. Naomi Bulger says:

    Wow, I hadn’t heard about the plagiarism controversy before reading this blog. I find it so strange that anyone would do this, let alone someone who claims to be a teacher. On the other hand, thank you so much for referencing my blog. I am absolutely honoured to be named here!

  5. Great finds! I love the pop culture line up (you know I love me some Reality TV, so the pop culture stuff is right up my alley!)

    Awesome blog links, too. I have about six down in my window to read. Yikes. Too many good blogs out there! I’m glad I have you to help me find them.

    • *Waving to a pop culture buddy* Thanks Tameri! I’m with you… bring on the entertainment news, reality TV, scandal sheets. And you are right there are so many great posts so I’m glad my mashup is helpful.

  6. Lots of news and great finds Barbara. Thanks for sharing them.

  7. Pingback: Panty-Gate: The “Undie Chronicles” Continue with…Thunderwear! | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  8. Amber West says:

    Thanks! I am glad people appreciated that post for what it was intended to do – keep us all safe in the future.

    (and thanks for the questions via email!)

    • You are welcome Amber! And yes, your post was straight up and honest. They all were. It is definitely about the information – the facts – and what we can learn from it as we move on.

  9. Barbara, you have some great links. I’m on my way right now to check out the blogging procrastination one because, uh, it’s a bit of a problem for me. {blush} Thanks for the links!

Talk to Me