Working Through the Muck: ROW80 Goals Check-In

Sweet dreams are made of this
Who am I to disagree?
I travel the world
And the seven seas–
Everybody’s looking for something.
Some of them want to use you
Some of them want to get used by you
Some of them want to abuse you
Some of them want to be abused.
“Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” Eurythmics
Image source: Dospaz via Flickr.com

This was a bit of a rocky and rough week.  The abrupt turn of the weather from sixty degrees to the thirties was paired with snow, rain, sleet, and hail all in less than a twelve-hour span.  Such a shift is a definite for triggering my migraines.  I’ve been fighting off a slow-moving stomach flu since Wednesday.  It isn’t anything drastic–just general queasiness, moments of clamminess, and a distinct urge for the basics of popcorn.  The work week ended with a day gig frenzy that allowed Friday the thirteenth to stand in all the bad omen glory it has deserved.  Thankfully, I had a scheduled massage Friday evening to wash away the “mucky vibe.”

ROW80 Goals Progress

Writing/Craft

  • At least one hour of WIP writing time five days a week. – Not at 100%.  More like 60%.  I’m improved from last week since I got in three sessions.  I was supposed to write Saturday and Sunday, but got sucked into reading (see below).  I know that making this shift to more daily writing will be something I’ll need to work on to make it a habit.
  • Complete one craft book via reading at least one chapter a week. – Done. I started “First Draft in 30 Days: A Novel Writer’s System for Building a Complete and Cohesive Manuscript.”  The goal is to teach people a technique for outlining a novel in one month versus having the full first draft done.  I plan on using it as a tip guide against my current novel WIP as I continue writing.  As a pantser, I’m still having paranoid feelings that I did my first outline “wrong.”
  • Complete two novels and one book of short stories via reading at least one chapter a week. – Done for week and one-third done with entire goal.  Squee!  I finished “Catching Fire” and have about a third left of “Mockingjay.”  Yes, “The Hunger Games” trilogy has addicted me.  Once free done, I’ll put my full focus onto “2oth Century Ghosts,” the short story collection by Joe Hill.  Then it will be time for a new goal.  🙂
  • Complete assignments for From Plot to Finish master class with Laurie Schnebly Campbell (first two weeks of April). – Almost done.  The class is now over and, since I was playing catch-up from the end of last week, I wasn’t able to participate as much.  I’m finishing the last assignments (seven and eight) now.

Social Media

  • Complete ROW80 sponsor duties via reading and commenting on assigned blogs each week. – Done.
  • Share contents of other bloggers via link backs from each of my posts. – Partially done.  I forgot to link in the entertainment/pop culture to my Idol post.  Ack.
  • Check Triberr at least once daily. – Partially done.  I did much better this week checking in several times and retweeting. There are still some irritating gremlins that make it more time-consuming than it needs to be.
  • Join and learn Pinterest. – Pending.

Healthy Happy Living

  • Cardio exercise three times a week. – Two thirds done.  I got in two sessions and get brownie points for sticking to one scheduled on Wednesday when I felt a little green.
  • Look for yoga/meditation course option each week. I found one for yesterday, but the trilogy reading got in the way.  Heh.
  • Complete neck exercises every day. – Done.  I take breaks to do these at work since sitting at a desk all day wonks my alignment.

How did you do this week?  Are there any goals that you are rocking on already?  Any that you have found will need more of a focused effort?  Be sure to check out the ROW80 updates of others via the blog hop.

Other Related Tidbits:

  • Speaking of Pinterest, August McLaughlin’s Pinterest & Blogging: 7 Keys to Success furthered my thoughts on how to use the site once I’m active and on best practices for linking with others.
  • With How Do We Find Beta Readers, Jami Gold answered some future questions I’ve had about my book.  While I am sharing pieces of the story with my local writing group, I do know I’ll need to have a few full story readers as part of the process.
  •  Cheryl Reif’s 10 Ways to Spark Creative Connection spurs some great “what if” questions for story and character development.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Working Through the Muck: ROW80 Goals Check-In

  1. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link, Barbara. *hugs* I hope you’re feeling better now!

    • {{Hugs}} back at you, Jami! Still taking it easy from the stomach bug. I heard on the news that our “too mild” winter now has several strains of muck tearing through the population. I found some 94% fat-free kettle corn to pop and am a tad bit in heaven. 🙂

      • Jami Gold says:

        Ooo, I love kettle corn. And cheesy popcorn. And caramel popcorn. Gee, I’m hungry. How’d that happen? 😉 Take care of yourself!

  2. Excellent check in Barbara. Definitly more ups than downs 🙂 and while you weren’t feeling well too, kudos. Feel better soon! Wishing you a fabulous upcoming week.

    • Thanks, Raelyn! I’ve loved how much reading I’ve gotten in this week and the feeling of being lost in a story. So glad I’ve gotten that back as a habit. Done in small chunks, we can fit in goals time each day.

  3. K.B. Owen says:

    Wow, Barbara, for a sick ‘un, you did fabulously! Very ambitious goals you have here. Nice job, and feel better soon!

  4. Gene Lempp says:

    There has been a great deal of sickness floating around, hope you feel better soon. Overall, however, you had a great week. On writing, I know that evenings, especially for us day job types (with kids adds to it), can be a hard place to find dedicated writing time. Are mornings an option? If not, can you break the time up (by using a timer) – 15 minutes, then check life, then 15 more. It took me a couple of months to find and lock in on a time – patience is a good thing here.

    Have a fantastic week, Barbara 🙂

  5. Sorry about having the “sickies”…we’re having a little bit of allergy and migraine issues up here w/ all the pollen! Great job on your goals!! I love reading all these posts by my fellow ROW80’s, as it helps me get motivated 🙂 Have a great week!

  6. Jennette Marie Powell says:

    Sounds like you accomplished quite a bit, despite not feeling well for part of the week. Hope all is better now – keep up the good work!

  7. Marcia says:

    Aw, so sorry you’re not feeling well, Barbara. I hope it leaves you in the next couple of days so you can get back in full swing. You did remarkably well while you’ve been sick. Good for you! Even the cardio when you felt lousy…what a trouper you are! I agree getting lost in a story is a fabulous feeling! Enjoy and I hope you have a healthier week ahead!

  8. Migraines are horrible beasts. I get them too so I can say “I feel your pain.” Craving popcorn is new though, and interesting. You made lots of progress anyways this week, so go you! Hope you feel better soon.

    • Thanks, Nicole! Migraines are evil little buggers. I think the popcorn was twofold: for my upset stomach and for the light salt. While too much sodium will trigger a migraine, a little will sometimes help quell the dizziness.

  9. S. J. Maylee says:

    Changing weather is the worst. The tissue usage in my house skyrockets this time of year.
    Popcorn is a major food group in my house. Love it!!
    You did accomplish a lot this week. Nice!
    I love pinterest, looking forward to sharing pins with you once you are up

    • Thanks! I keep hesitating on Pinterest because the invite means changing FB to the timeline feature (hence making it a goal). *sideeye* I’m not sure I like the timeline, but might as well jump since FB will be migrating us all anyway.

  10. Wow. Congrats on your awesome progress, Barbara! Finishing a manuscript is a huge feat worth celebrating. 🙂 I love that you include ‘happy’ in your health goals—so important! Thanks for the warm shout out. I really appreciate the support! Stay well and keep up the FABULOUS work.

  11. Reading is a wonderful way to pass the time when not feeling quite right. THe other goals will come as you feel better. Pinterest can be a huge time drain. I definitely limit myself when I go there or a whole day is gone and no creative work done to show for it.

Talk to Me