On the Right Path: ROW80 Goals Check-In

“Made the scene. Week to week.  Day to day
Hour to hour.  The gate is straight.  Deep and wide.
Break on through to the other side.  Break on through to the other side.” ~ The Doors “Break on Through (to the Other Side)”

Image source: Forrest Gump movie

With about two weeks left to this round, I keep hearing a line in my head: “Run, Forrest, run!”  Is anyone else feeling a bit like that?  I ended up having a wicked busy week and yesterday was out and about for 12 hours.  From one appointment to the next to a late breakfast with my mom to meetings to a Saturday night church service to some evening grocery shopping.

Today, I slept in to replenish and gear up for more time pulls–new treatment appointments for my neck, day gig projects, contemplating big picture end-goals for the year, that pile of laundry mocking me from the bedroom corner.  This round of ROW80 has been an awesome motivator and I feel on target as I scamper ahead.

ROW80 Goals Progress

Writing/Craft

  • 1,500 words of new fiction a week either on novel WIP or short stories.  875 words on novel WIP and 1,002 on a new short story.  I was tackled by a short fiction idea on Friday and had to knock some words into it.  I was exhausted, so it turned a tad bit demented.  🙂  
  • Read at least one chapter a week of a craft book.  Done today.
  • Read at least one chapter of a novel each week.  Read “Hunger Games” before the movie launch March 23.  I did the math on pages to read each day and got to reading yesterday during any wait time I had and earlier today.  I’m on target at page 133.
  • Complete assignments each week for Plotting Via Motivation class (March 5-30, 2012) with Laurie Schnebly Campbell.  I’m up-to-date on the reading and assignments one through three.  For the class, we were told to work on a different book idea than our current WIP to learn the process.  So, I might have a rough plot for a book two once done.  *doing the robot dance*

Social Media

  • Blog three times a week.  Four done.
  • Read, comment and share at least 10 blogs a week.  Done.
  • Check Twitter and Facebook at least once daily.  Done.

Healthy Happy Living

  • Exercise at least 30 minutes a day, three times a week.  Weekend got super busy so I didn’t make a walk attempt.  My neck doctor wants me to take it easy, so I’m aiming for no impact above the waist and super low/nothing jarring below it.  She said my idea of walking at a regular pace for a longer time to build back up my endurance and see how my head feels is a good idea.  Gotta get in some yoga this week too for much needed centering of energy.
  • Finish my poncho project via crocheting one hour a week.  Done.
  • Enjoy watching one movie a week without multitasking.  Watched “Absence of Malice.”  Ah, Paul Newman.

How is your round finishing up?  Have you met your planned goals?  Retooled your ROW80 vision?  Fallen of the rails into madness?  Heh.  Share away!  Also, be sure to check out the ROW80 updates of others via the blog hop.

This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to On the Right Path: ROW80 Goals Check-In

  1. Wahooo Barbara! Kicked IT on the writing AND the blogging. LUV it!!
    Can’t wait to see a pic of you wearing the Poncho…
    Here’s to taking it easy as you work your way into some walking. Don’t push yourself. Your neck isn’t something to mess around with so one step at a time.
    FAB week honey – keep up the great work!

    • Thanks, Natalie! I’m itching to get back to exercise because I put some pounds back on from several weeks of going from active to nothing, Eating tons of plain carbs when nauseous from the medicine didn’t help. I feel like a sloth and need some spirit and energy movement.

  2. Barbara – Completely off-topic but how did you get one of those Like It buttons? Do you remember the plugin name? I can’t get mine to work.

    Congrats on the excellent week, Barbara! Wasn’t the Hunger Games wonderful? I have my fingers crossed that the movie will live up to the books.

    Way to head into these last weeks. Run, Barbara, Run!

    • Not sure on the “like” buttons, Bridgette. I’m on WP.com so some of the tools just show up or are turned on by clicks in the settings.

      Yep, I’m liking Hunger Games so far at about 1/3 in. Glad I’m reading it first and yes, I hope the movie rocks. It will have Lenny Kravitz so it is already good. Oh yeah. 🙂

  3. Ali Dent says:

    Barbara, you’re doing great with your goals. You are near the finish line. Keep your head up and don’t look back!

  4. Good job Barbara… I’m with Natalie.. I cannot wait to see the poncho!

  5. Lots of peeps are reading the Hunger Games….I’ll have to keep checking around to hear some of your reviews. Great work this week Barb! Run Forest Run.

  6. Great job on those goals, Barbara! Mine are now in the hands of my copy editor, but if I don’t hit my overarching goal of releasing my next work by the end of the challenge, it’s not her fault – I’d planned to give her another week or so, but it didn’t work out that way. Have a great week and keep up the good work!

  7. Marcia says:

    *happy dancing for you* Amazing week you had! If it feels okay for your neck, march (not vigorously) around the house instead of walking. It uses more muscle and will help you burn a few more calories. Just the motion of lifting your knee makes a difference. If you have stairs at home, take a couple extra trips up and down for more burn, too. Just don’t hurt yourself again!
    I know you can see the ROW finish line…you’ll be a winner for sure!

    • Great advice on the marching, Marcia! I’ll see how it feels on carpet to be less jarring. I’m not liking my pants feeling tighter in the waist. Attempting a self intervention. Ha!

  8. You kicked it, Barb. well done. I’m in awe.

Talk to Me